Joshua's space

Josh Isaac reflects on living with cancer

Seattle Jewish Film Festival to Screen My Left Hand

with 3 comments

I’m pleased to announce another big moment for My Left Hand as the Seattle Jewish Film Festival is including it in its 2009 lineup. The documentary film will show as part of the closing day festivities on May 3, 2009, at 5pm at the Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI). It is a free screening co-sponsored by the NW Sarcoma Foundation, with any contributions raised going to support the foundation.
 
I made My Left Hand during my battle with epithelioid sarcoma in 2004/5. It follows two years of chemos, radiations, and surgery. But more than the physical trials, I tried to capture the emotional rollercoaseter of the experience.
 
The film first premiered at the Seattle True Independent Film Festival (STIFF) in 2007 where it won the Survivor Spirit Award. It also screened that year at the Tacoma Film Festival winning the Audience Choice Award. And as part of Seattle Jewish Family Services’ healing program we held two screenings in 2008. The DVD is available for purchase through paypal. I’ll leave you with a trailer for the film and hope to see you on May 3rd.
 
 

Written by yoshinawa

March 4, 2009 at 12:08 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Chiam, we loved your movie. It was wrenching. It killed us. It upset us. Loved the movie, though.

    tom

    March 4, 2009 at 1:15 pm

  2. Anything I type just seems so pathetic and meaningless. I\’m a stranger living miles away from you and you have touched me tremendously. My heart breaks for you, for Kim and for your 3 beautiful children. I\’m praying for you Joshua…

    Karen

    March 4, 2009 at 1:57 pm

  3. Joshua – it\’s about time the JFF took note of this incisive, honest film and it\’s creative, smart, funny, and brave filmaker (and terrific soundtrack, too I might add). Congrats, bro. I will be there with you in the darkened theatre in spirit and compassion and love, as I always am.~ K

    Kevin

    March 5, 2009 at 4:33 pm


Leave a comment